a teatray in the sky

b+w monday

Posted in 5D Mark II, Animals, Birds, Ecuador, Galapagos, Photography by firthefirst on September 19, 2011

thought I’d post an oversized square format photo today.  this is one of the shots from the trip that I didn’t realize I’d gotten until I came back and downloaded everything onto the computer.  I’m still excited every time I bring up Silver Efex Pro because it does an incredibly good job of capturing the feel of b+w film using your digital shots.  it will never be exactly the same, but it’s a more-than-good-enough compromise.

in case you’re wondering, there’s no post-processing applied here to get the hazed-out effect on the adult male frigatebird mid-descent.  I’m not entirely sure what it is at all that caused the look, but it makes the image far more intriguing.  the wary look of the frigatebird below is also captivating to me.

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. KatiesCameraBlog said, on September 19, 2011 at 12:09 pm

    Oh, wow, amazing shot. Truly. And love that it’s not processed to make it look that way (well, except for the Silver Efex Pro–gotta check that out). Thanks for posting.

  2. Lori Steenhoek said, on September 19, 2011 at 12:10 pm

    niiice shot. I hope you are planning to print this large scale. Enjoyed all your honeymoon photos, too, Beautiful!

    • firthefirst said, on September 20, 2011 at 2:45 pm

      hey Lori, thanks for checking out the site! hope you and Matt are doing well. I haven’t figured out which of the photos I will actually print from this trip yet, but yeah, this one is a contender.

  3. Giuliana Ananias Wolf said, on September 19, 2011 at 1:36 pm

    I have nothing to say about your pics but that they are amazinggg! And I just can’t stop my curiosity and avoid looking to every single photography you’ve got here! Congrats, really nice job!

  4. drawandshoot said, on January 10, 2012 at 3:39 pm

    amazing!


Leave a Reply

