a teatray in the sky

making zongzi, a.k.a. tetrahedrons of joy

Posted in 5D Mark II, Food, Photography by firthefirst on February 23, 2011

one of the things that tina’s been trying to do is learn as much of her family’s cooking heritage as possible (and I tend to think this is both a very worthy project and so far a very successful project as well).  so at the beginning of February, with ma in town, our kitchen basically transformed into America’s [Taiwanese] Test Kitchen.  since I’m not so great with the traditional cooking (I can do steak, I can do pasta, I can do anything with a recipe, none of this recipe-free measurement-free asian cooking) I figured I’d help document with the camera.

today’s post/experiment revolves around what chinese call “Zong Zi” (粽子).  the correct english translation of this is … nonexistent.  the technically accurate description for these are “Gelatinous Rice Tetrahedrons” which to my knowledge is the only incidence of this geometric figure appearing in the culinary universe.  yeah, being math geeks really must run in our asian blood.

the great thing with these are, you can make it sweet, or you can make it savory, and not only are they delicious to eat, they’re fun to look at and more fun to play with.  food that has to involve fingers … your inner five-year-old’s dream come true.

I’m pretty sure if you made a list of top 100 reasons being chinese is awesome, zong zi would make that list.

then again, I have the feeling probably two-thirds of that list would actually just be food items.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Tina said, on February 23, 2011 at 9:08 pm

    this is making me hungry… and i’m already stuffed! lovely orange glow. makes everything feel so warm and sunny and… just cheerful. thanks for capturing the madness

  2. Monica said, on February 24, 2011 at 9:46 am

    boo.. I should have eaten more while I was there..
    Wait… I ATE ALOT… all we did was EAT =P


Leave a Reply

