a teatray in the sky

somewhere warmer

Posted in 5D Mark II, Animals, Butterflies, Houston, Photography, Texas by firthefirst on December 6, 2010

so … yeah, hiatus.  things have been pretty crazy but I think it’s all been for a good cause.  realizing my photography backlog right now is running all the way back to the texas trip and while I debated skipping over the remainder I realized instead the butterfly photos have some calming effect that I can totally use right now.  maybe you can too.

the natural science museum in houston has a fantastic greenhouse space for its butterflies and I couldn’t have been happier running around a steaming dome with my 100 macro strapped to the front of the cam.  butterflies wreak havoc with the narrow depth of field a macro lens provides, and since I was shooting flashless and handheld it definitely took getting into sync with the rhythm of the butterflies before I could get anything worth keeping.

of course, monarchs will always be my favorite since I had to raise one from a caterpillar to an adult back in montessori school

awesome moment of the week was definitely seeing the glee cast rock florence and the machine at the end of last week’s episode.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. jamie said, on December 7, 2010 at 5:21 pm

    have you checked out the butterfly house in brookside garden? prob not as big as the one in houston but it’s pretty sweet–the butterflies just chill and fly around you. my friend volunteered once as the person who checks guests as they leave to make sure they don’t accidentally bring a butterfly out with them. 🙂

  2. Kai Brockbank said, on December 20, 2010 at 1:32 pm

    Beautiful shots! I love the first especially. The focus seems pretty sharp to me!
    Great post!

  3. Don Komarechka said, on December 21, 2010 at 9:15 am

    I really like the composition of your first image, exceptional. Good stuff dealing with the shallow depth of field too, I know what challenges that brings 🙂


Leave a Reply

