a teatray in the sky

tuesday gear day … because friday is too far away

Posted in 5D Mark II, Defrag, Gearheadedness, Photography by firthefirst on November 2, 2010

some of you already know I shelled out for this little beast, the canon 70-200mm f/2.8 L IS II USM.  I don’t know why the “II” part of the name comes before the “USM” part of the name, and I have the feeling canon has no idea why they set up their naming conventions that way either.  don’t hold your breath waiting for a formal review, but you can see it in action in the teaser set from the counterpoint premiere.  also, since I haven’t shot with the older versions of this lens, I have no real point of comparison worth discussing anyway.

one of the weird things I was totally taken aback by was the lens color.  yeah, so I’m a noob.  but when all day long you hear about canon’s “Big White Lenses” you tend to assume that, well, they’re white.  “Big Beige Lenses” just doesn’t hold that same ring to it, nor does it have that same sleek modernist aesthetic to it that I was hoping for.  it’s a minor disappointment, but a bizarre one, and I don’t think I’m fully recovered yet.

the box is massive to protect the lens, but also to include this nifty-yet-rather-useless carrying pouch for the lens.  it doens’t hold camera+lens, and the combination of the velcro and linked-zipper system is so frustrating I don’t think I’ll ever actually use this pouch to hold anything at all.

I feel the total opposite way about the lens itself; I am going to end up using this a lot, I can tell already.  the IS works quickly and works well, and even zoomed in all the way I can get near-sharp images at 1/30 (the lead-off image for the counterpoint post).  as good as the lens shoots at f/2.8, it does still manage to improve when you ratchet it down to f/4.

gotta let tina take this sucker to the zoo sometime and pit the 70-200 on the t2i against the sigma 100-300 on the 5dII … but before that I’d better paint the inside of the sigma’s lens hood

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Kai Brockbank said, on November 6, 2010 at 2:04 pm

    Wow! That’s one fabulous-looking lens!
    Out of interest, why would you paint the inside of the hood…?

    • firthefirst said, on November 7, 2010 at 11:01 pm

      I need to paint the inside of the sigma 100-300 lens hood because it isn’t matte like the canon hoods; what ends up happening is light actually reflects from a side angle onto the lens and causes flare … basically, it defeats the whole purpose of shooting with a lens hood.

  2. photographyfree4all said, on November 24, 2010 at 7:17 pm

    Oh man, now you’ve got me envying you! This is an amazing lens! Your photography is so interesting, John! I wish I would have been able to hear the music of your musical post! Great job!


Leave a Reply

