a teatray in the sky

some like it hot, first take

Posted in 5D Mark II, Houston, Photography, Texas by firthefirst on October 27, 2010

and for those who do, there will always be a place called houston, texas.  went down primarily for celestina (aka tina #2) and nick’s wedding (as a guest, not a photographer, obviously) and secondarily for tacos and tex-mex.  mission accomplished on both fronts: had a blast at the wedding and then had a blast chowing down breakfast tacos at taco cabana afterwards.  so good.

my tina (aka tina #1, and by the way this is not a nomenclature I invented, this apparently has existed since high school) attempted to convince me to sing along with the vietnamese lyrics during the ceremony … except, when you don’t know vietnamese, it’s really not phonetic.

having now gone through a wedding myself, I have a newfound appreciation for other people’s weddings.  not so much in the sense that I appreciate the effort that it takes, but more that I can appreciate how happy you must be on your wedding day.  it takes joy and exuberance to a whole new level.

had a lot of time to work with the 5DII and discovered a raft of new custom functions and how to use them properly.  I think as of this month, between the zoo trip and the houston trip, I’ve finally gotten deeply familiar with every nook and cranny of the system.  next I have to start to learn how to edit the video coming off the 5DII properly.

very cute.

also awesome was getting to meet the super-cool meghann rosales (the artist of jug wine comix) and her equally cool comic sidekick thomas.  they pretty much look exactly like what they look like in the comic.

I know I always do this, but I can’t help, I still find it amazing — that last shot is ISO 6400 pushed an additional 3 stops.  say what?

congrats to nick and tina!

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Tina said, on October 28, 2010 at 8:40 am

    the Tinas are married! 🙂


Leave a Reply

