a teatray in the sky

chasing giraffes

Posted in 5D Mark II, Animals, Baltimore, Maryland, Photography by firthefirst on October 19, 2010

the last time tina and I went to the national zoo in dc, she asked if there were giraffes.  of course there are giraffes at the national zoo… except there aren’t any.  the last visiting giraffe had either passed on or passed away some time ago, and dc is officially giraffe-less.

but we couldn’t give up there, and so as the fall rolled around I decided to search for the nearest zoo which housed giraffes.  to my surprise, that was the Maryland Zoo in Baltimore.  maryland has a zoo of its own?  25 years spent in maryland and I had absolutely no idea this existed.

that’s a giraffe laughing at me for not knowing sooner.  there are three of these chaps/ladies at the zoo, and tina even got to feed one.  they are incredibly fast eaters and remind you of a high-powered vacuum cleaner when you watch them ingest.

it’s a small zoo, much smaller than the national zoo, but for certain exhibits you end up closer than you would than at the national zoo (and for others, you end up behind way too much glass, so it’s a trade-off).  I got to work out the sigma 100-300 f/4 a bit more and practice with my AI Servo function on the 5D Mark II.  the AF with the sigma is occasionally quirky, but at this point I’m not sure if its the equipment or something I’m not doing right.  so I’ll reserve judgement on that part.  what I do know is, the sigma 100-300 churns some fine bokeh at the WFO setting.

besides the giraffes, we also discovered the cutest animals ever: the kirk’s dik-dik.  say what you will about the name, but they are damn cute

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Lee said, on October 19, 2010 at 9:42 am

    J – I cannot believe that you did not know of the Maryland Zoo; we would visit because of the Polar Bears.

    • firthefirst said, on October 19, 2010 at 6:57 pm

      I know, I’m a little surprised by my ignorance as well, I thought I had Maryland pretty well explored

  2. truels said, on October 19, 2010 at 7:54 pm

    The shots of the giraffes are great – well done!

  3. Kai Brockbank said, on October 20, 2010 at 10:46 am

    Love the expression in the first giraffe shot! I’d never seen what dik-diks looked like before. I agree about them being cute!

  4. peter bang said, on October 20, 2010 at 9:55 pm

    that’s good to know that the maryland one has giraffes and that you can even feed them. we were at the dc zoo recently and were disappointed as well. we asked the guy and he said they are renovating and they are bringing giraffes back.


Leave a Reply

