a teatray in the sky

skyland restaurant

Posted in 5D Mark II, Food, National Parks, Photography, Shenandoah National Park, Virginia by firthefirst on October 18, 2010

since I’m really not old enough to remember the good old/bad old days, I have no idea what national park food used to be like.  what I do know is, the in-park dining options these days may lack diversity but certainly don’t lack in quality.  the service can be hit-or-miss (in yellowstone it’s all miss, in shenandoah it’s usually decent) but you can be fairly confident your taste buds will be rewarded once the food hits the table.

skyland restaurant at the skyland resort in shenandoah national park is a must if you’re visiting the park, mainly because you have no other choice, really, unless you want to waste time driving down to luray or another town.  I’ve managed to get my whole family hooked on the place, mainly because they make absolutely smashing mushroom tarts (I think we could just order nothing but this when we come eat here).

I purposefully ordered the chicken fried steak this time around to see how southern-style cooking in virginia compares to southern-style cooking in maryland.  oh, it compares.  best damn CFS I’ve had in ages.  I don’t know how you can get something to be so crispy on the outside when it’s still so wet and juicy on the inside.

happy eating

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Kai Brockbank said, on October 18, 2010 at 2:08 pm

    Well, that’s got my mouth running! Nice shots!

    • firthefirst said, on October 19, 2010 at 6:58 pm

      thanks! me too, I can’t look at the chicken fried steak photo without getting hungry


Leave a Reply

