a teatray in the sky

when the sun goes down

Posted in 5D Mark II, National Parks, Photography, Shenandoah National Park, Virginia by firthefirst on October 12, 2010

the week at work is shaping up to be half looney bin half zoo so there won’t be much substance with today’s post.  going to keep it short and let you enjoy / be amused by my continued attempts at night sky photography, this time from shenandoah.

I really, really need a remote trigger (a self-timing one would be awesome) and some beanbags for windy evenings …

I’ve definitely got a long way to go, evidenced by the fact that I can’t even figure out which star is the north star, apparently.  thought I was pointed right at it but when the 5 minute exposure wrapped up, every star in the frame was spinning.  looks kind of like glowing rain, which I actually thought was cool.  in the full size version of the photo you can tell how windy it was and how badly my hand was shaking, because all the star trails are squiggly.  again, not an effect any serious photographer would be proud of, but I find it neat.

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Kai Brockbank said, on October 12, 2010 at 12:33 pm

    Wow! That first shot is even more amazing (to my mind) than the one from the previous post! I love that golden light and the diagonal ryas of last sun. This really looks like an area that’s worth visiting!
    That middle night shot is impressive, I’ve never got anywhere near that sort of thing in night photography. I love the way you’ve managed to gey the milky way pinpoint sharp and yet the outline of the mountain is still really clear, with a beautiful glow.
    I agree about the “glowing rain” in the last shot, it looks like it’s being blown by the same wind that’s blowing the trees!

    • firthefirst said, on October 19, 2010 at 7:00 pm

      thanks for the comments kai, given the fantastic landscape you show in your photos, I bet it would make for some great night shots. you should totally give it a try sometime, I’d be very interested in seeing how it turns out.

  2. ezakly said, on October 12, 2010 at 12:53 pm

    ❤ always need a good park patrol to linger through your photo for that extra kick 🙂 the photos turned out amazing. we need to print the milky way one. i love it!

    • firthefirst said, on October 19, 2010 at 6:59 pm

      we do need to print it… hmmm guess I should get it fine-tuned for printing and send it out soon


Leave a Reply

