a teatray in the sky

you say goodbye, I say hello

Posted in 5D Mark II, National Parks, Photography, Shenandoah National Park, Virginia by firthefirst on October 11, 2010

I’ve been in a bit of a panorama mood ever since I got back from yellowstone (see?) and I wanted to keep that streak going.  my tripod handling speed is still not quite where it should be at, and as we all know, practice makes … better.

so, a few fridays ago, tina and I took off after work on friday and managed to reach the north gate of shenandoah national park just before sunset.  the place was practically devoid of people, everyone else long since gone home or gone to dinner.  perfect.  no traffic, empty overlooks, enchanting silence.

the panorama shooting didn’t turn out so great (the shot above is a cropped-down single-frame shot), for a number of reasons, but it sure was fun being out there.  after dinner, we went out again to take some night sky photos, which I’ll post later this week, and then after hitting the bed late, we got up early to catch the sunrise from thoroughfare gap.

despite what I’ve heard about the thoroughfare gap overlook, I’m not sure it really is the best place to shoot sunrise images in shenandoah.  I’d like to try shooting from pinnacles overlook in the morning next time.  all in all, great fun.  probably didn’t stop down my lens enough to control the flare in the closing shot, but the colors and contrast make it enjoyable to look at nonetheless.

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Kai Brockbank said, on October 11, 2010 at 2:15 pm

    Amazing photos, great light! That first shot is amazing, I love the layers and the misty valleys. I love the contrasting yet blending colours of the sky in the second. Pity about the flare in the last photo, but it kind of makes it interesting and almost surreal, and certainly amazing to see!

  2. Charles Ford said, on October 11, 2010 at 9:57 pm

    Very very nice John. I actually like those linear flares in the last photo. Thanks for commenting on my Denali photo today…in a reverse switcheroo I am now headed down to see your Yellowstone & Tetons material, that’s on my photo to do list!

    • firthefirst said, on October 19, 2010 at 7:01 pm

      thanks for checking out the site, charles. I’m really enjoying your mix of HDR and non-HDR work

  3. bluecacti said, on October 12, 2010 at 1:47 pm

    i read “i’ve been in a bit of a paranoid mood lately;” at first “panomaric” seems a lot more positive though, glad it’s that instead.

    i love the second pic.

  4. truels said, on October 12, 2010 at 5:33 pm

    You shot some nice panoramas (again!) here, the colours are great in the last two – but I prefer the first one with its deep perspective and peaceful evening mood…


Leave a Reply

