a teatray in the sky

yellowstone one-a-days: day 9

Posted in 5D Mark II, National Parks, Photography, Technique and Development, Yellowstone National Park by firthefirst on September 27, 2010

last week of yellowstone photos starts today … and then it’s on to jackson hole (and the grand tetons). 

I’m greatly enjoying the slower pace of posting one-a-days for a couple of reasons.  the main one is the fact that I get to spend more time evaluating each photo.  is it the right shot?  there are a bunch of shots that I thought I would really like when I took them, but upon pulling them up in DPP I realized they failed to convey the majesty of the scene as I had hoped.  which results in very, very few right shots.  the second reason is that, once I do find those few good shots, I get to spend more time editing them to the right level.  I try not to overcook any of the images, since I’m shooting for true landscape images, not Chase Jarvis-style commercial images, but that doesn’t mean there’s no room for calculated editing.

castle geyser is one that I’ve seen erupt from a distance twice now (both times sitting and waiting at grand).  despite missing the first act, you can always catch the second, because it continues to steam for maybe half an hour after it finishes gushing.  the flows in front and around castle are magnificent and really lend themselves to wide-angle shooting.

[exif: 5D Mark II,  Canon 24-70 f/2.8 L USM,  ISO 200,  f/13,  1/250]

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Jennifer S said, on October 3, 2010 at 11:32 am

    whoa RAINBOW!!! (^_^)

  2. Jan said, on December 4, 2010 at 2:21 pm

    Beautiful photograph, John!


Leave a Reply

