a teatray in the sky

friday gear day

Posted in 5D Mark II, Defrag, Gearheadedness, Photography by firthefirst on August 27, 2010

packing and loading up … can’t wait to unleash the two little sig-monsters out in the wild and see how they do on the 5D II and tina’s T2i.  realized that my little tamrac backpack wasn’t going to cut it this time around, and so the inevitable has happened: I’ve upgraded my luggage.

got the Thinktank Airport Airstream because it’s one of the smaller bags in the lineup but it’s plenty big enough for me (since I still plan on carrying the actual body and a lens or two in my tamrac backpack).

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. photographyfree4all said, on August 27, 2010 at 11:17 am

    Oh, that’s a very nice case! Can’t wait to see the shots!

  2. lemonheart82 said, on August 27, 2010 at 2:21 pm

    nice case and gear

  3. Don Komarechka said, on August 27, 2010 at 10:31 pm

    Clearly I’m seeing room for an extra lens in that bag! Great design on that thing, especially if you are keeping the cameras separate.

    • firthefirst said, on August 27, 2010 at 11:10 pm

      don, you’re a wizard. I rearranged and added some inserts and now I’ve got room at the top for either the EF-S 60mm macro or the sigma 10-20 to slot into.

      if it weren’t for the 150-500 I suspect I could fit most of the rest of my lenses into the thinktank

  4. lemonheart82 said, on September 2, 2010 at 1:35 am

    seem like u like sigma lens very much, I also sigma fanz now :>

    • firthefirst said, on September 2, 2010 at 9:02 am

      sigma lenses are fantastic for the price, but in the end I find they don’t match up well against canon lenses; I don’t like their color tint and most of them are very soft in the corners.

      that being said I havent come across any instances of the poor quality control that sigmas are purported to have, and to the opposite effect, I have a copy of the sigma 70-300 APO DG Macro that is stunningly sharp

      I bought them for use on my APS-C cam because I was still getting a feel out for what kind of shooting I was going to do, now my lineup is all Canon L glass in the wide-angle and standard zoom range, and Sigmas for the telephoto zooms. I don’t do much wildlife shooting so I don’t mind having just sigmas for that, I’d rather spend my money elsewhere.

      definitely gonna put up a review of the big sigmas when I’m back from yellowstone

  5. stephen yang said, on September 7, 2010 at 9:52 am

    you, sir, are a baller


Leave a Reply

