a teatray in the sky

more anticipation

Posted in 30D, Defrag, National Parks, Photography, Technique and Development, Yellowstone National Park by firthefirst on August 25, 2010

… and more than a little bit of worrying.  not about the wedding, mind you.  I have no doubt that’s going to go off without a hitch (not sure if Tina shares that sentiment).  I’m worried about how the office is going to fare with the both of us gone for a week and a half.  all that aside, I am really excited for the big weekend and then the trip to Yellowstone with tina’s family afterwards. 

to get my vacation taste buds salivating, I decided to process a few photos from last year’s trip that I hadn’t processed previously.  as much as I love my old 30D, I can tell already it’s going to be so much better shooting with the 5D II.  despite having the same pixel density, the 30D’s images just cannot stand up to the sort of sharpening and dynamic range push/pulling that the 5DII’s files can.  also, I made the mistake of automatically slapping the 2X extender on the 150-500 last year without considering the amount of image degradation that would result.  the 2X is staying in the bag this year.

so now you know where I’m at if you don’t hear from me the first two weeks of september. 

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Tina said, on August 25, 2010 at 4:41 pm

    hooray yellowstone! i’m only worried about the things that always worry me 😛

    • firthefirst said, on September 16, 2010 at 11:59 am

      turns out the office survived just fine without us. guess that means we can take more vacation, right?


Leave a Reply

