a teatray in the sky

Red Hot & Blue

Posted in 5D Mark II, Food, Photography, Virginia, Williamsburg by firthefirst on August 5, 2010

been trying to get into some semblance of shape before I get the tux tailored for the wedding.  when I work out, this is what I think about: eating at red hot & blue over the july 4th holiday down in williamsburg.  it’s a chain restaurant, but like le pain quotidien, it’s one of those quality chains that could really fob itself off as a stand-alone restaurant.  we’ve got one right up here in gaithersburg, md, but I’m disappointed to tell you it’s not as good as the one in williamsburg, va.

which of course begs the question, does barbeque really get better as you go further south?  probably.  north carolina, just wait, I’m coming.

slightly different post-processing today from my usual food posts, as I wanted to bring out every morsel of crispy crunchy flaky greasy joy that is true american cuisine.  some people are amazed at the obesity rates in america.  I’m amazed people aren’t even fatter.  but when you’re sitting down at red hot & blue, you better put that all out of your mind and get to loosening your belt, because it’s going to be good and it’s going to be huge.

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. thoughtsappear said, on August 5, 2010 at 12:57 pm

    There’s one in Gaithersburg? I may have to check it out since that’s much closer than Williamsburg. Although I’d live to visit Williamsburg.

    Do they have BBQ chicken? That’s my favorite.

    • firthefirst said, on August 6, 2010 at 10:11 am

      they definitely got wings at the Gaithersburg one, and from what I remember those are quite good.

      the only thing I don’t like at the Gaithersburg location is that, if you order anything other than the Wet Ribs, it’s way too dry and not tender enough

  2. Monica said, on August 5, 2010 at 9:01 pm

    gah! you’re killing me! Bring me some BBQ and re-fried beans!

  3. sass said, on August 9, 2010 at 9:54 pm

    there’s one in the laurel area also. went there for a rehearsal dinner once.

  4. shetraces said, on September 16, 2011 at 5:28 pm

    OMG! I am salivating right now. I’ve been eating campus food for 3 weeks and wish I can get my hand on a plate like this!


Leave a Reply

