a teatray in the sky

le pain quotidien, or just being mean

Posted in 5D Mark II, Food, New York City, Photography by firthefirst on July 15, 2010

up until this point, I’ve never felt morally reprehensible for anything I’ve posted.  that changed the second I just pulled up the wordpress dashboard menu for posts and hit “add new”.  you may find me more or less vile depending on your degree of food envy.  which any good friend of mine should have, else we have little in common, you and I.  and earache and a headache couldn’t keep me away from joining Tina and Rachel at Le Pain Quotidien (the one on 85th and madison, if you insist on knowing) for a so-late-isn’t-it-technically-just-lunch brunch on Sunday.

you will realize, upon going to their website, that this is a chain store.  you wouldn’t have guessed it otherwise.  it makes la madeleine look like a cheap hussy on a dingy street corner.  the food is clever, fresh, and exceedingly tasty.  and it’s organic for those of you that care.  food to me is like other people’s children — I don’t care how they’re raised unless they make me sick.

props if you can guess which one I ordered.

and if you know me that well, you should know we ordered dessert.

any place in new york city you can show up to in cargo shorts and eat this well is going into my book.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Tina said, on July 21, 2010 at 4:59 pm

    this is making me hungry again. eating here makes me think that i’m being healthy… even though it probably wasn’t.

  2. […] blue over the july 4th holiday down in williamsburg.  it’s a chain restaurant, but like le pain quotidien, it’s one of those quality chains that could really fob itself off as a stand-alone […]


Leave a Reply

