a teatray in the sky

one short day in the emerald city

Posted in Broadway, Food, G9, New York City, Photography by firthefirst on April 11, 2010

for tina’s birthday last weekend we took a quick jaunt up to the big apple to go see Wicked and eat cupcakes.  our mission was simple: to relax and enjoy New York City.  that’s not an easy thing for me because gotham just isn’t my sort of town normally.  maybe it’s overexposure, but lately I’ve actually been starting to like it.  or maybe it’s the broadway shows.

the thing with Wicked is, I’ve had the CD since the show first hit broadway during the last ice age (2003 or so) and yeah, even though I’m not 15 and blond, I can pretty much sing along to “Popular”.  don’t judge.  so, I’ve always known it was a great musical.  but there’s plenty of great musicals out there.  does Wicked really have that extra bit of magic, that transcendant ability to become a fantastic musical?

see the pudgy dude grinning down in the corner there?  he thinks so.  I think so too.

going to see Wicked is like getting the biggest surprise birthday party of your life.  sure, you know something is up, and you’re pretty sure that something is pretty good, but when you finally arrive and your apartment has been turned into a ball pit à la McDonald’s playland and in the back is a seven foot stack of Patrón bottles, you know your mind is about to be blown.

all I can say is, go see it.  watching “Defying Gravity” in the real Wicked production after watching “Defying Gravity” on Glee is like watching Gladiator after reading about ancient rome in your middle school world history book.

I’ve also learned my lesson after getting the chance to compare the original production of Ragtime with the recent return-to-broadway run at the Neil Simon Theater.  if you can go see an original production, do it.  you never know how much will get lost in the translation once it’s on tour or on its second run.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Tina said, on April 11, 2010 at 9:02 pm

    Oh NYC, you know how much I miss you. Thanks for a spectacular weekend and yes, you should go see Wicked.

    • firthefirst said, on April 13, 2010 at 10:34 pm

      I thought I didn’t like NYC but I miss it too. too bad it’s so darn expensive to live there (and I’d have to give up my favority hobby, driving)

      it was an awesome week babe, glad we got to go


Leave a Reply

