a teatray in the sky

a land flowing with milk and honey

Posted in 30D, 5D Mark II, Gearheadedness by firthefirst on March 13, 2010

the new Zorro

… is sort of what full frame cameras have been made out to be.  sure, you can get bigger, more expensive, more baller, more exotic gear (read: hasselblad digital back), but you can say that about pretty much anything these days.  hell, you could blow 25K on a Mont Blanc pen featuring a picture of Gandhi if you really wanted (here for those of you who really are both really ironic and desperate to shed cash).  but Canon’s 5D Mark II and Nikon’s D700 are the Corvettes of the camera world – adrenalin-pumping action and stunning performance and yet your children aren’t consigned to eating dog food for the next dozen years.

that’s the promise, anyway.  the question is, does it deliver?  that’s something I’ll have to answer another day, when I’m not full of Allagash Dubbel and the new camera battery is fully charged.

what I do know is, like the Corvy, the 5D Mk II looks like a beast from every angle.

of course, cameras are just cameras.  the real BSD’s are the lenses.  the 50 f/1.4 finally has some 35mm company, with the 24-70 f/2.8 L and the 100 f/2.8 L IS macro.  believe me, I’m slapping these on the minute I get the chance to.  aquarium trip, anyone?

the best part of today wasn’t really getting the gear.  ok yes it was.  let me rephrase.  the part of today I’m happiest about is getting these photos set up in a conscious manner.  ultimately, that’s a large part of why I started this blog, to push myself to start crafting photos rather than merely creating on a whim.  I’ve got a long way to go, but it’s a start, and that’s the whole point.  favorite photo of the night:

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Yin said, on March 13, 2010 at 11:51 am

    Nice one John. I’m heavily leaning towards getting my own (camera) ‘Vette.

  2. Tina said, on March 13, 2010 at 1:58 pm

    i think you’ve been watching too much Top Gear

  3. stephen yang said, on March 13, 2010 at 9:26 pm

    dude top gear is the BEST! also these pictures are so delicious

  4. firthefirst said, on March 14, 2010 at 1:05 am

    @ Yin – thanks, I’ll let you know how it goes. I have high expectations for this bit of kit. I want to see more pictures from you man

    @ Tina – yes, I have. but you can never really have too much Top Gear

    @ Stephen – yes. and why thank you very much


Leave a Reply

